What Happened to my Love for Print?

Not many years ago, I was this print crazy fanatic. Anything and everything that  I came across in print would be devoured within the shortest possible time. I remember renting books at the shabby bookstores in the Godforsaken place called Kota and reading continuously, so that I could finish within a day and not pay the additional rent. At first, it was the rent, the paltry Rs. 40 a day that forced me into this habit. Later, it was the ecstasy of flipping through 500 odd pages a day, with breakneck speed and yet ensuring not a single word was missed, prodded me to  carry on. Scores of Sydney Sheldons, The Lord of the Rings, many a Potters, couple of Rushdies, a recap of the God of Small Things, the three Dan Browns published till then and  many more. All were consumed with that passionate voracity.

And Newspapers? And Magazines? Boy, did I love them! Every edition of India Today. Every article of TOI. The occasional glitterati-gossip of  Times City. In the desolate and lifeless years of Kota, print was my one and only source of entertainment.

Fast forward four years, and Ican add a total of 6-8 books to that list!  8 books in 4 years! Sometimes I am amazed by what  I have become and the ludicrousness of my actions. And if I wonder what went wrong with my cores, I am sure my lack of zeal in print can be attrubited as the primary reason. Reason or Symptom ?  I am unsure about the absolute correctness of either.

But I believe, the solution is one. Going back to the Old Ways. NTU Library actually has a huge collection of decent authors. And I guess it is time to switch off the TV Shows and switch on the bed lamp. And get immered in the ficto-fantasy world of the black and white print.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “What Happened to my Love for Print?

  1. I’ve been following your blog since you started. You have made amazing progress. This site is an inspiration for all pursuing a long transition versus the big chop.

    – Rob

  2. Rohit

    Thanx Rob! Glad to know there are other people who read my work.

Leave a Reply

